Paths on the Moon

Old Computer Challenge 2024 - Day 7

The OCC 2024 is on its 7th day. Not so much to report for today. I needed to check some Open Document files, so I installed the LibreOffice suite. I thought that it would be too heavy to run properly in this machine, but fortunately it was not. Writer and Calc ran just fine, though a little slow, obviously.

One thing that has been bugging me a little is the thing with vim's word wrapping and setting the color column, because when editing markdown vim was breaking my lines and adding new ones, but I was able to solve it. As I said previously, I like vim very much, but I'm no expert, so I'm still trying to figure out some of its options and configurations. I wish to be a vim master someday :P . Also, how the hell do you copy an entire buffer to the system's clipboard?

I wrote in the last post that I was going to try doing some stuff and exporting it through pandoc, but I didn't have too much time today. I hope that tomorrow I'll have the time to explore that, even if it's the last day of the challenge.

Speaking of that, it is very safe to assume that I'll continue to use this laptop even after the OCC ends. Maybe not as my main machine, but as a valuable complement to my workflow. I'll write more about tomorrow and in the next post. Stay tuned! :)

#fun-things #oldcomputerchallenge #oldcomputerchallenge2024 #retrocomputing