Paths on the Moon

Who am I?

My name is Carlos Fernando. I'm a biologist with a broad set of interests. I've worked in projects related to biodiversity usage, nutrition, biogeography and systematics.

My main hobby is reading, and books are my preferred source of entertainment. My favorite genres are 19th century classics, Latin-American literature, science communication, science fiction and children's books. I also like to read manga, Japanese light novels, manhwa, manhua and webtoons.

I have an interest in technology and open source software, and currently I'm learning to program in Python, R and SQL, mainly to develop new tools to analyze biodiversity, its evolution and its geographical distribution.

I like to explore and learn new things, and one of my greatest pleasures is to learn something new every day.

Why I blog?

I've always liked the idea behind personal webpages and blogs, more than social media profiles. I grew up when the Internet was a novelty and when, if someone wanted to have a presence on it, they'd have to make a personal site from scratch, using HTML and tools like Microsoft FrontPage or Netscape Composer. I think this "first web" was an amazing place, because a good portion of it was a bunch of people sharing their interests, on webpages made by them, and discovering random places that weren't part of big social networks.

Because of this I'm also a fan of the Small Web movement and alternative protocols like Gopher and Gemini. Of course, none of those will dethrone the big social networks or the modern web itself, but I'm convinced that they're great alternatives and the best way to escape the enshittification of the modern internet. That's why I wanted to be a part of that movement and that's why I decided to write this blog.