Paths on the Moon

Old Computer Challenge 2024 - Day 2

Just like yesterday, today I didn't really used the laptop so much, but there are some things that I figured I could do to make the challenge more amusing.

Like many people, I'm subscribed to a variety of RSS feeds, which I manage through Feedly, my reader of choice. Why not some open source solution? Mainly because I'm lazy and I like to sync what I read between devices. But with this laptop the Feedly homepage feels sluggish and is not a very pleasant experience. The solution? Newsboat, of course. Fortunately, I always mirror whichever feed I add or delete to this terminal RSS reader, and I use it a little from time to time, so the change is not so "traumatic". The thing is that much of my reading I do it on my tablet and sometimes on my phone. Obviously that defeats in part the fun of the challenge, so I deleted the app from both devices, and I'll keep them like this for the rest of the week. That means that all of my RSS reading I'll do it on my laptop.

Now, I really don't use social networks, apart from Mastodon and Lemmy. I'm trying toot, but I need more time to get accustomed to its controls. For Lemmy, maybe accessing through the browser will be fine, but I'm not too engaged on it to justify searching for an alternative. I'm pondering if I should delete temporarily the clients that I use on my tablet and phone (Megalodon for Mastodon, Summit for Lemmy), but I'll think about it during the week.

The next topic will be configuring my email. I don't have experience with mutt or any other CLI email client, but I think that I'll try to configure one to see how difficult it is. And if not, there's always good ol' Sylpheed and Claws 😁.

I haven't yet had time to review the situation with the MEGA client, but I think I'll try to configure the CLI version again, and if not, I'll go the Syncthing way.

Also, I'm trying again Falkon for web browsing, since unfortunately Min doesn't have a properly functioning spell checker (you have to change the whole browser language to change the language of the spell checker, and since I write in both Spanish and English, that is annoying). Like I said yesterday, the UX is more sluggish but I definitely need that feature.

It is very certain that tomorrow I will not be able to write anything, since I'll be out most of the day, so I'll continue this log next Tuesday. See you later!

--
cfcg

:wq

#fun-things #oldcomputerchallenge #oldcomputerchallenge2024 #retrocomputing